Consciousness!

2 05 2015

CONCIOUS

Chief Seattle said, “Humankind has not woven the web of life. We are but one thread in it. Whatever we do to the web, we do to ourselves. All things are bound together. All things connect.”

I’ve always been a humanitarian and a believer and a dreamer. And, I’ve always been a writer and a poet. I own these things about myself in the same way I own having brown hair and green eyes. I guess the thing that I do not always own is MY CONSCIOUSNESS. I’m about to explain what I mean by that in a moment…

You know how you wake up in the morning and you think, What a day! I have to “get through” this or that or a million things. And you feel yourself going on to autopilot. Autopilot is good, right. It steers you through the day like a big, powerful machine, with all the jet fuel you need to drive your ‘life’!

I am a master of auto-pilot, most days, but then something will pull me back into CONSCIOUSNESS. A rainbow. An eagle. A rose. A card from a friend. The hard things too- A devastating earthquake in Nepal, rioting, protests, kidnappings, death, destruction. When we FEEL SOMETHING it’s called being conscious. It’s a tiny little sliver of something called “White Light”. That moment when you know there is so much more to life than auto-pilot. My confession to you is that this is way easier said than done. Auto-pilot doesn’t care so much. That makes life a whole lot easier. But how much of the beauty do we miss out on when we go “unconscious”? Personally, I’ve tried it. It doesn’t work, people. All that really happens when you go unconscious is that you TRY to stop feeling. But, you still feel. You still care. You still feel your heart beating. Me personally, I cannot not care. I cannot walk away from a problem or situation without trying in some way to make it a little better. This means that my thread is a Thread. It matters to someone. It matters to me.

I think Chief Seattle had something there. I think he was telling us to realize that whatever we say, feel, do, has an impact. What are you feeling right in this moment? Who or what are you impacting? What consciousness do you want to embrace in your life? Do you want to do less autopilot and more pilot?

Let’s do this together. Consciousness is a beautiful thing. A lot like LIFE itself…A messy, swirling, dynamic expression of the TRUE BEAUTY of ALL THAT IS!!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

